Fox Sports announces 8 team USFL reboot

Fox Sports announces USFL reboot with 8 teams

By: Adam Bridges


The United States Football League (USFL) is back!

For those who have not do not know, The USFL is an American football league that played three seasons from 1983 to 1985.

Their seasons were traditionally conducted through the spring and the summer and had planned on having their 1986 season played during the fall and winter to compete with the NFL. This plan did not come into fruition though because the league had stopped operations before the season could start.

Now with Fox Sports rebooting the league, the USFL will now be set to start in the spring of 2022.

Although the original USFL league featured 18 teams, it was announced on The Herd on FS1 that the league would only have eight teams for this upcoming season.

The teams that will be in the North Division are: Michigan Panthers, New Jersey Generals, Philadelphia Stars and Pittsburgh Maulers.

The South Division will include: Birmingham Stallions, Houston Gamblers, New Orleans Breakers and Tampa Bay Bandits.

We are unsure if the league intends to add more teams in the future, but for now the league will only be featuring eight teams.

Every game this season will be played in the same location, but teams will be allowed to play in their home locations in the future.

Back to top

Leave a Reply